“It sucks to be alone”

Or so the good people at my favourite diamond store want us all to believe in their new advertisement…

But does it really?  I thought about that this morning on my slooooow ride into work (gotta love Toronto winters).  I came to the conclusion that yes SOMETIMES it sucks to be alone.  Especially at this time of year, when everyone is so happy and “joy to the worlding” all over town. 

But why it sucks can change over time and even differ on the same day.  I have been alone (aka single) at numerous points throughout my life, and it hasn’t always sucked…sometimes its been the best time of my life.  I had a couple of months in between boyfriends where my best friend took me to NYC and gave me an amazing tour of my now, favourite city.  Another time me and another  friend had a summer of adventures, dancing to Spice Girls and flirting with cute boys.  What is the common denominator here…my friendships! 

I have some amazing friendships.  Friends I would give anything to and for.  I don’t consider my self to be the most social person in the world, but I have a handful of great friends (most of whom don’t know each other) that I can lean on, bitch with, party with, dance with, eat with, nap with…you name it!  I love each and every one of you and you have all at one time or another helped me get through the sad part of “being alone”.

Almost turning (30) adds a whole new dimension of “suckiness”.  I had always assumed I would be married young with lots of little babies running around.  But dreams change and evolve.  I still dream about being married with babies, but obviously unless I order a husband online (ewwww) my timeline will have to change.  I know my family probably assumes it’s just never gonna happen for me.  I mean my brother had his kids young and got married this year (finally) and I have had two very long-term relationships that could have turned out great in the marriage/kids dept., but again, it didn’t happen.  It’s when I think of these things though that I realize even though it does sometimes suck to be alone, I am also truly blessed.  I have had two wonderful relationships with men that I don’t doubt loved me and I loved them.  Not everyone can say that…

I am going to enjoy this single time and try to move quickly past the “sucky” days into the fun days where I experience new adventures and spend time with my great friends mentioned above! 

My advice: hmmmm…if you feel like “it sucks to be alone”, then it probably does.  But there are some great people in your life, just waiting for the opportunity to make it better!  Let them!

XOXO Nikilee

One thought on ““It sucks to be alone”

  1. Awww that was so sweet…but in a way made me feel more “sucky” to be alone. thirty ain’t bad girl. Most people have their first kid later in life…careers and travel taking precedent. But I’ve done the travel, have a care…(let’s just say JOB), have the kid…but alone. My friends too, are awesome. Varied, and spread out, but understand me, except me…and that ain’t easy. So now…I want the relationship. Not the dating, the bars , the on line plenty of harmonious internet thang…..Not even the Spe*** ring….just want that special company.

Leave a Reply

