There comes a time…

In every relationship (or at least in the relationships I know of) there is one person who needs to tune out or turn off the TV and tune into or turn on, their partner. 

This is my situation.  I watch a lot of TV.  When I say a lot – I am sure, next to my father who ONLY watches TV, I could win some kind of guiness world record.  I PVR about 8 regular shows per week, plus Criminal Minds whenever it is on – which in reality is every single day sometimes 2-3 times per day! 

Plus I watch shows at their regular time as well without PVRing it.  I’d like to say I have a life, but in reality – I have very little that resembles an interesting, fun, exciting life.  I may be a little more like my father then I care to admit.  Since I crave attention (beg for it, plead for it, worship it) if I don’t get it, I tend to focus my attention on those of my TV characters.  I get so wrapped up in stories, I have been known to stay up way past my “bedtime” and just watch more TV to see what’s happening next. 

But again, it all boils down to the fact that I Nikilee  am an attention whore.   Give me attention and I don’t feel the need to watch what Victor Newman is doing to ruin his children’s lives on Y&R, I don’t care who is outwitting the mother figure on Survivor and I could even say I would stop wishing that Derek Morgan on Criminal Minds was MY husband (well maybe). 

My obsession with TV has been a cause of turmoil for me with many of my relationships – with bf’s and bff’s alike.  I deny them the pleasure of spending time with me, of talking to me and of hanging out with me because sometimes it’s just easier to watch other people’s lives, then to face your own.  Especially when you’re not happy in it. 

I know I keep adding new goals for 2011, but this isn’ t a goal so much as it’s an addition to one of my first goals (accept any and all invitations that come my way).  I am going to STOP PVRing every little show I feel I may at some point want to watch.  I will still keep 7th Heaven because I have watched it from episode 1 and I am hoping they go right through the whole series – and besides it’s family friendly TV, but I am going to “gulp” take out Y&R and all my Criminal Minds.  I am not going to watch all the new seasons that start in January except my two favourite (Vampire Diaries – oh Stefan) and (Glee – and mainly this is because I wish my life were a musical where I could actually sing!)!  I am going to scrapbook again, and blog more, spend time with friends, see my nieces and nephew, go to movies, go for walks…anything that helps cure me from my addiction, or as I have mentioned – my obsession!

Now, leave me be as I go ponder how I will live the next year with less of Victor and Derek – I’ll miss you

…see I am sadly a little pathetic!  LOL

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

