Valentines Day

Okay so Monday it will be one of my favourite holidays.  Valentines Day!!!  Now why do I love such a commercial, artificial holiday?  Because even though  I agree that you shouldn’t need a special to tell or show someone that you love them – it is nice to share your love with the world while everyone else is doing the same.  With so much hate and destruction going on in the world, can’t we praise something – just once?

So here is my dilemma: for the first time in 11 years I am single on Valentines Day – I was with M for 5 years, then I had the disaster bf for one of them and then A for the last 5 Valentines Days.  I don’t think I ever though of not being single on this day, because I have no idea what that feels like!  What does it feel like not to get over priced flowers and truffles, what does it feel like to not have a hallmark card expressing someones undying love for me…I don’t know.  I guess I’ll find out soon enough.  The good thing is, I am not panicking over it.  I am actually okay with it – I mean I won’t have any of the above, but I also won’t have any fakeness, any worry that someone will forget to get me those things.  I will spend the day at work and the night with my two BFF’s and N’s son at Swiss Chalet where I will smile and be so grateful for the people in my life!

That’s what Valentines Day is supposed to be about right?!

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

