Volunteer – it will do you good

I started with the One-on-One Mentoring Program with the City of Toronto starting in December.  My mentee K is a 8-year-old girl who just melts my heart every time we see each other.  I have been volunteering on Tuesdays at lunch.

The school year is slowly coming to an end.  Next week is our last week together before the summer break, but we have both requested we get paired together again next year!

Today we had the Mentoring Picnic at Thomson Park.  I met K and her mom and Ms. M was there as well!  We had SO MUCH FUN!  We played with a kite, badminton and something that kind of looked like Lacrosse nets.  We ate hot dogs and drank pop and took pics and just had a great time!  I smiled from ear to ear the whole day.

I am going to miss K over the summer, but I have had a blast getting to know her.  I can’t wait till September!

If you have ever thought of volunteering your time – even an hour a week – do it!  It will do you so much good and everyone involved will be grateful for your time!

XOXO Nikilee

 

Leave a Reply

