The one thing I have learned from living alone

I have made a pro’s and con’s list to living alone.  Since my dad was hospitalized I have had ZERO time to do anything because I am working, visiting him, I babysat my nieces for 4 days and I have had so much training from work that I am beyond exhausted.  It is really nice to come home, walk around naked (or near naked at least) while getting ready for bed and have no cares in the world if anyone sees you. 

It’s also really nice to be able to have silence – I enjoy silence.  Especially when I come home from work.  I don’t want to talk about my day like most people do.  I talk ALL day at work, when I come home, I want to flip on the tv or grab a good book and relax with no one to bother me.

HOWEVER, it’s also really quiet at home and occasionally I am bored and want someone to chat with and my dad is a great talker – he can talk about anything and everything and I miss all the mindless chit-chat we engage in. 

With my dad home, there is more incentive for me to cook meals, bring lunch to work and in general be healthy because he talks to me about this stuff and with him there I can’t get away with lying. With him at the hospital, well lets just say I am back to square one with my eating better 😦

My dad has a lot of bills that come in for him and my grandmother and being responsible for these bills can be overwhelming even if the  money is still coming out of my dads account.  My dad keeps immaculate records of his cheques and I am doing everything I can to keep his records just as reliable.  I am an organized person, but the ex always took care of our bills when we lived in the apartment so other than a regular visa bill I never wrote cheques for anything. 

I keep an okay clean house, but I do enjoy the maid coming once a month to get every nook and cranny.  Unfortunately she works days as do I so no one is home to let her in so we have had no maid service for August 😦  We also have had a lot of random flies come into the home which I have sent to buggy heaven so I would LOVE a good cleaning of the house…ick! 

So overall, I know that when my dad comes home, I will continue to live with him for as long as possible because while I LOVE living alone, I LOVE my dad more and I am grateful for the time we have together.  I have the rest of my life to live alone, pay bills, have silence and peace and tranquility…lol

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

