I love poppy’s little helper!

Last year it somehow came out that my oldest niece R liked to wrap presents.  My father, needing an excuse to be lazy, joked about her helping him.  She fell hook, line and sinker and wrapped all of his gifts to the family (except to herself obviously).  This year the exact same thing happened.  It has become a new tradition.  R comes over, they eat Swiss Chalet – her favourite – and they turn on the Christmas tunes and wrap gifts all night until they are complete. 

Now, normally I would complain that my father does nothing and he needs to do things for himself, but he gets such a kick from her coming over and spending time with her that I can’t say anything.  I only wish I was able to have had that kind of relationship with my own grandfather (who passed when I was 6) so I bite my tongue and let them have at it. 

She loves it too.  She loves feeling helpful, and being in charge *a bit like her aunt much*  lol…this weekend was extra special because it was her 13th birthday weekend!  My niece is a teenager – two down, one left to go!  She is so small and child like that it is very hard for me to believe she is a teenager.  I mean I remember turning 13 in 7th grade and I thought I was so cool and so old – and R – well she’s just not and doesn’t even pretend to be.  I was all into clothes and friends and being outside of my fathers home…and her, well it’s the opposite.  For this I am kind of grateful.  She’s so precious and I am so proud to be her aunt and I know my dad just adores her.  She will have these memories her entire life and that is a gift I cannot deny either of them!

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

