To be an elf…

Last year my co-worker and fellow ASL student “Cookie”  fell ill and was unable to help her then 8-year-old son put up their Christmas tree.  Now, I love Cookie so I decided I would do what I could and help them put up their tree!  We had a great time and her son, trouble maker, loved it!  She’s called me her little Elf ever since!

This year Cookie is feeling fine, but it’s kind of become our thing; that I would help them put up the tree again this year was inevitable.  Last night I went over to Cookies and somehow ended up backing onto their lawn – missed half their double driveway by like two feet!  Not a good start!  But I brought coffee and hot chocolate so it was all good! 

Trouble-Maker always makes me smile, he’s just so darn cute, yet at that age where every move you make you are pretty sure he is going to tear down the house – on purpose? well that depends on the day.  Cookie brought up the tree and darn it we could not for the life of us figure out how to light it so that the bottom branches would light up – it’s a self-lit tree. 

We spent about 30 minutes plugging and re-plugging in all the outlets to each other, but alas, no bottom lights.  After that it was time to decorate.  Now let me tell you; Cookie has become one of my favourite people, but she is a little like me in the sense that every ornament must have its proper place and you can’t have too much red or gold in one area or she MUST change it.  She had me laughing the whole time!  Her tree was looking a tad bulemic on one side so we added more decorations, but that meant we had to add more decorations all over the tree because it wasn’t even.  Finally, when I left she seemed “okay” with the poor trees appearance.  I can almost guarantee though that if I go back in a day or two, ornaments will be re-arranged and branches will be spread even farther!  Oh Cookie!

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

