All good things must come to an end…

or do they?  Unfortunately in so many ways, for me this is true.  My week in the Dominican Republic (DR) is over, the memories made and the friendships that were started will always be with me, but the bliss that the DR brought to my life has come to an end and I am back to work, back to family and old friends and responsibilities.

A lot of  what happened in the DR will stay in the DR because I will respect everyone’s privacy, but I will tell you the up’s the downs and the good and the bad!  All I can say is the fact that it was one week only, this trip changed me as a person, and I want to truly thank every single person that came on this trip because I thoroughly enjoyed my time with each and every one of you!

The Ups’s:  being away on vacation!  I mean really, I was starting to lose my mind at work and feeling overwhelmed with responsibilities.  The fact that it was somewhere warm, with friends (old and new) was a huge bonus!  Another up was the fact that the plane left on time and there was no turbulence on the way there.  My sister and I got to sit next to each other by the emergency exit so we had no one sitting on either side of us.

The Down’s: I was looking forward to spending time on the beach – but the wind was LOCO (crazy for those of you whose Spanish isn’t up to snuff).  It was so windy on the beach it actually felt cold.   We had to spend a lot of time by the pool, which really was fine, but I love the feel of sand in between my toes.

The Good: The Majestic Colonial is a beautiful resort.  Lots of landscaping, greenery and our room was great (more on that later).  The signature drink “the Majestic” was my favourite and I think I drank my weight in them.  My absolutely favourite thing about my trip was chilling on the balcony and lying on the beach late at night (which surprisingly wasn’t as windy at that time) talking and drinking and relaxing.  Another good thing was my trip to see and swim with sharks and stingrays.  I am pretty sure the stingray purposely poked my butt (sans stinger) but it could have been the tour guide as well, I will never know!!  Swimming with these animals is a life experience, bucket list item that should not be missed!  The great thing was that I got to do this with my sister and the grooms mom and aunt.  The four of us had so much fun!  We swam, we danced (again, I met another Dominican tour guide who ended up dancing with me the whole time and staring at my boobs) and we laughed.  Can I please tell you – laughing is something I don’t do often, or at least haven’t done often lately, but on this trip I laughed whole heartedly every single day, numerous times!  My cheeks hurt!  Another good was the Disco (Donde es La Discotech??  Ya my Spanish got worse not better throughout the trip…lol…might have been the influx of Majestics I was drinking).  I am not a dancer, and dancing next to the bride all week who is a stunning girl and great dancer is enough to give anyone a complex, but again, I was having fun.  So I didn’t care!  The music was pretty good except they played some songs twice a night…who does that!!  At least I kept MY shirt on the whole time…the same cannot be said for everyone there!  There are so many goods, but like all resorts, there are some bads…

The bads: A lot of the people we went down with had MAJOR room problems.  My friend N and C had to get new key cards every single day because they kept disconnecting (and the walk from our room to front lobby is about 10-15 minutes) NOT COOL.  Another friend had NO shower door which was fine cause he roomed alone, but the maid walked in once…poor girl had no idea what she was walking into!  We all lost cold water or hot water at SOME point during the trip and our toilet in our room lost all water once *thankfully I complained and it was fixed immediately!*.  The bride and grooms little boy was sick and sad almost all week, but was REALLY sick on the Thursday at which point I also felt sick and now that I am home from the DR and have seen a Dr. realize I have strep throat!  Can you believe it!?  Ugh…a couple other people also seem to have it as well so I am blaming the baby!  LOL…

All is all the trip was great, I hate to let little things disappoint me, and there was enough great to out do the not-so-greats.  Plus I have the cutest turtle necklace which reminds me of my amazing trip.  I will post some pics soon enough (check the edits) and the whole reason for going down – the wedding, went off without a hitch!  Watching one of my favourite ladies get married to an amazing man made me smile, cry and laugh…all at the same time!  Congrats Kim, Jeff, Chase and the whole Bailey-Moore families!  I am so blessed to have met you all

XOXO Nikilee

Some of the best times that I ever had and ever shared it was just you and me sitting on the sand (okay I never sat on sand…ewwww)

Leave a Reply

