Blackberry v. Iphone

Am I really making this comparison??  My blackberry bold has been acting funny ever since I came back from the DR so yes…I am making the comparison, because I am a huge fan of lists, pros and cons.  I do it for every aspect of my life – at least the important ones and as sad as it may seem, my cell phone is a very important part of my life. 

My friend who got married in the DR bought an Iphone a couple of years ago when I was buying my blackberry.  I defended blackberry to the death, I hate touch screen and hers seemed so breakable compared to my durable little blackberry.  I still find this to be true.  HOWEVER – RIM has been disappointing lately and apple seems to be getting stronger and stronger.  hmmmmm. 

I decided to do what any girl who has google access does – I looked for comparisons.  I found a couple of interesting sites that compare blackberry’s to Iphones. http://www.wired.com/geekdad/2009/08/great-geek-debates-iphone-vs-blackberry/ allowed me to see a comparison with apps, attributes, gaming and of course the Chuck Norris Factor…which for me is getting really old so I ignored this section completely.  It seems like both phones compare pretty evenly across the board.  I love the Iphone apps and games, but I love bbm (LOVE BBM) and the ability to use keys and not a screen to touch.  SO I am back to the beginning, again.  Now I know I have at least one friend who would talk to me all day about how WONDERFUL Iphones are and how HORRIBLE blackberry’s are…and just to annoy him, I think I would get a new blackberry because it’s fun to annoy pretentious Iphone users 😛  But this is MY life so I can’t base my decision on one person. 

BBM has become a tad addicting and since I don’t really drink or smoke or do drugs shouldn’t I have one thing to be addicted to…right shopping…two things to be addicted to???  If I left blackberry I would lose constant status updates and new pics from my bbm friends.  It would make me feel sad to leave my groups and four out of my five bff’s have bbm (though I was informed last night through BBM that one is leaving and abandoning bb for Iphone).  So three of my five bff’s would have blackberry and two would have Iphone.  hmmm…oh MAN!  My nephew and sister-in-law have blackberry’s and I love them dearly.  My brother has an Iphone… +1 for blackberry 🙂

In the end, I have no idea what I am going to do.  I mean I am still in contract with my blackberry, but that doesn’t really matter to me, I will pay for the upgrade if I really need to.  I need to think long-term.  No more short-term thinking.  I love blackberry, but Iphone seems to be the way people are going.  Iphone seems to have more long-term potential.  I know I have my answer in my heart, but letting go of something I really like sucks…I have a few more months of bbm love, but I have a feeling, by end of summer, I will be a freaking pretentious Iphone user**.

**okay so not every Iphone user is pretentious and I am sure just as many blackberry users are pretentious, but really it’s fun to think negatively of something I know is happening and I don’t really want to have happen

XOXO Nikilee

One thought on “Blackberry v. Iphone

  1. BlackBerry is the best communication device right now. Apple is gettuing stronger but I personally I think apple is gettin old and lacking innovation (no disagreement on iphone 4S success). Same old interface and same design. On the other hand BlackBerry 10 looks awesome. RIM’s USP is email & BBM and they are the best tool in the market. New OS and new interface is coming later this year. You should give BlackBerry 7 a try or look forward to BlackBerry London. http://harryminhas.wordpress.com/2011/08/08/blackberry-london/

Leave a Reply

