A long weekend is just what the Doctor ordered

Okay so my doctor didn’t actually say I need a long weekend, but I know in my heart, if I told her every detail of my life, I am sure she would recommend it! 

There is so much that I am quite ready to talk about yet on my blog, things that I need to keep private to protect someone else…but lets just say I had a pretty damn near perfect weekend. 

The one thing I can talk about is my dinner on Saturday night at the Keg restaurant in Scarborough.  Now, those who read this blog know that Makimono is by far my FAVOURITE restaurant, but the Keg does come in very close.  There is just something about the atmosphere, the servers and the food that always makes me feel wined and dined.  I went there with my father, brother and sister-in-law.  This was to celebrate my dad’s birthday from last week because T got sick and we couldn’t go.  Taking my dad out to dinner is always a treat since he doesn’t go out – ever really – anywhere.  But he does love a good Keg dinner and this was no exception!

We all start off with appetizers, because we know if we are having Keg, we go ALL out!  My brother, T and I had always have baked garlic shrimp – so yummy.  The bread was a bit hard, but the garlic sauce made it soften right up!  Garlic, cheese and shrimp so freaking good!  My dad got escargot.  No one else would be caught dead with escargot, but my dad loves it and has it every time we go!  Of course we all got alcohol too except T who isn’t much of a drinker.  Me and my brother got Caesars and dad had a southern comfort with 7-up. 

For our main dishes, we all differ somewhat.  My brother got a peppercorn steak with a shrimp and scallop medley on top.  He got the loaded baked potato and slices of tomato for flavour.  T got the terriyaki steak with garlic mashed potatoes and dad got the prime rib with loaded baked potatoes with a side order of mushrooms.  My meal, which is my favourite meal there is the surf and turf prime rib with lobster tail and garlic mashed potatoes.  I LOVE LOBSTER! 

Such a great meal!

 
 
Everything was cooked to perfection and I am pretty sure I ate mine in about 30 seconds flat.  In fact I ate so quickly I had time to run out and say hi to a friend I had been looking forward to seeing who always puts a smile on my face who was there to have dinner with family as well.
 
This was an amazing night out with my family, we don’t get to do it often (I mean really none of our diets or wallets can afford the Keg on the regular, but once in a while is a great time).
Daddy and me

Overall, I would not have given up this long weekend for anything, spending time with family and friends is always a good time, and sharing a wonderful meal with wonderful people make it all the more exciting and I can’t wait for the next long weekend which is…EASTER!  WTF!  This will not do.  I need to book a day off in March.  I cannot wait over a month for another long weekend…

 
XOXO Nikilee 
One thought on “A long weekend is just what the Doctor ordered

  1. Glad you enjoyed your weekend, and your week in the DR. I have been catching up reading facebook, blogs etc since we got back. Cruise was fantastic!!!!!!!!
    If I’d been at the Keg with you I would have had the escargot too! They are yummy!

Leave a Reply

