And I call myself a city girl

Everyone knows I love living in Toronto.  I love everything about the city – the people, the noise, the attractions…I don’t know if I could ever live far from a major city – TO being the best!!

However, this weekend proved, that while I may be a city girl, I am not a city transportation girl.  I drive.  I drive fast and I drive with passion!  I love my car (Minnie the Mazda 3) and I do not enjoy TTC (Toronto Transit Commission).  On Saturday I finally booked an appointment with my friends wife to get my hair cut, coloured and styled because it was LONG overdue.  She works at King and Yonge (77 King St E to be exact).  June and her husband are like family to me.  He is like my big brother and she is just the sweetest woman I’ve met in a long time.  Their 3-year-old daughter is an angel – my darling, my sweetheart.  Any who, back to Saturday.  So I knew I was going to subway it down to the salon because driving and parking can be a bitch on a weekend. 

I drove to Kennedy Station since its free parking on weekends and that allowed me the pleasure of NOT taking a bus.  The subway ride there was crowded, but I managed to get there with no problems – even a few minutes early.  I was so proud of myself for getting there on my own because I haven’t taken the subway anywhere alone since I worked at Air Canada Centre in 2009. 

The problem came when I left to go meet a friend back in Scarborough.  I decided I’d take the Streetcar to Broadview station because then I wouldn’t have to transfer subways to get back to Kennedy.  BIG MISTAKE!  An older gentleman got on my streetcar one stop after me.  He was coughing.  Hacking and yakking all over the place.  He was eating peanuts and these peanuts were spraying all over the front of him and the seat in front of him.  People were getting up and moving to the back.  I didn’t want to be rude so I texted said friend above and tried to hide my face so I wouldn’t catch any of this hackers germs.  Now I know some people, especially older people, have health issues and I feel bad that he seemed to be in such ill-health, but really – a streetcar with the windows all closed and these germs floating around, made me physically ill.  I couldn’t get off fast enough when we pulled into the station and I walked as fast as I could to the subway platform and all the way to the very end!

The subway ride seemed pretty good, until we were almost at Kennedy.  Let me explain something.  I don’t consider myself claustrophobic per say, but lock me in a subway underground in a dark tunnel and I have a small problem.  I get fidgety, my legs shake and normally if I am with someone, I can focus on them and be all good.  But I was alone with only strangers around me.  My knees were shaking so bad I thought the car would start to rock.  Thankfully it was only about five minutes and we started moving again.  My friend was in the roundabout waiting for me so I was SOOOO happy to have a hug from someone who always can make me smile!

Now, let’s back track to my hair.  I have always believed hair is hair – it will grow out, grow back and grow long in time.  I saw June at PandH salon at 77 King St E.  I had no idea what I wanted except colour and cut (trim).  She gave me beautiful, natural looking streaksand colour  and because I told her I am growing my hair long again, she just cut a bunch of layers into it.  Blow dried it, straightened it – there is nothing better than seeing all the steam from the hot iron – and made me look and feel like a million bucks!  Now if you do go there, please ask for June as your stylist cause she is awesome and I love her!!

www.pandhsalon.com

P & H Logo Logo

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend, take care and remember to smile, it may be Monday, but we are all in for good things this week, I truly believe that!

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

