Bullying

Very rarely do you ever get two blogs in one day from me – I mean hello I do have to work sometime ya know! 

However I follow a woman’s blog who touched on this very important subject today and I believe that it is something that needs to be discussed and while  not THAT many people read my blog, I do think everyone that does should take time to talk about it with one other person and ask them to talk to one OTHER person about this topic.  Lets spread the word!

Bullying is something that affects children and youth everywhere across this country.  Now, I read the above blog who is from America and it is a disease running rampant down there as well.  Bullying has become the most tolerated form of abuse in the world.  Every school system talks about zero tolerance yet very few actually implement it because of other policies and trust issues (and rich parents breathing down people’s necks).  As a case worker with social services, I no longer see the everyday bullying, however I did two long student placements and have volunteered in schools for years where I saw bullying first hand and wondered how and when people decided that it was okay to torture each other for reasons unknown. 

As an aunt to three amazing kids I have seen bullying between them and I have also seen them stick up for each other when being bullied by outsiders.  My nephew was once suspended for threatening his younger sisters bully while the original bully was let off scott free.  Now I do NOT believe in eye for an eye at all – but really, where is the justice when my nieces bully roams the halls free after telling on my nephew??  I have never been so livid at a school before in my life! 

As a child I wasn’t bullied often, I spent a lot of time hanging out on the outskirts of the “popular” crowd through middle school.  The odd time I was bullied, it was more of a  threat than anything else and quickly ended because of other friends I had.  By the time I got to highschool, I never noticed it.  I guess I played dumb, because I am SURE it happened a lot at my school which was very multi-cultural and had more cliques than a queen-teen Disney movie!  I mixed in with numerous groups and was a fairly friendly person with the jocks, the AV kids, the drama club and numerous kids throughout every grade as I was also a mentor.  By the time I graduated highschool I was a confidant young woman ready to face the world…if only I knew the world could be so ugly. 

There is a new movie coming out called Bully. http://thebullyproject.com/  It looks into this disgusting world where children are bullied for numerous reasons and very little is ever done about it.  We need to wake up.  Children are dying, they are killing themselves to get away from their bullies.  To protect themselves where the school system, the parents, the ADULTS of this world fail time and time again.

Please do something, call your local school and find out about their tolerance policies and how you can support them, call your local MPP, mentor, volunteer, get involved!  Be a Big Brother/Sister so that youth who may be at risk have an adult support system around them.  I volunteer with the one-on-one mentoring program and I constantly talk to my mentee about kids in her class, any trouble she may have with them and if she does we have a conversation about it!  My nieces and nephew all know about bullying and when they bully each other – and I see it – they know to run…it is NOT and never will be tolerated in my home.  That rule will be enforced! 

Please see the following link to read more about bullying and what we can do to stop it http://findingravity.com/2012/04/12/findingravity-anti-bullying-link-up/ 

 

 

 

 

XOXO Nikilee

One thought on “Bullying

  1. Pingback: Anti Bullying Link Up Submissions…ANNNND….A Vlog!…BOOM! | findingravity

Leave a Reply

