These are a few of my favourite – apps??

So a few months ago I switched from my beloved black berry to the iPhone 4S.  I was nervous that I would never develop the same bond with the iPhone that I did with the bb, but lo and behold, I have.  Thanks to the magical world of the Apple apps!

BB had apps, but iPhone, has the best apps EVER!  It seems like every week I fall in love with a new app.  Whether it be a game,  a way to find the latest movies in theaters or where all the Green P’s are located in the city, the Apple apps make life more fun and a heck of a lot easier.  Because I always love a Top 5 list, I am going to count down my top 5 apps!

Top 5 Apple Applications as determined by ME – Nikilee30

Instagram photo

1. Instagram: I have always seen people upload funky looking pics to Facebook, pictures that seems old or black and white, or really dark or bright and I had no idea how it was done – until I downloaded Instagram.  You can take pics that are black and white, with a slight golden tinge to them, framed, unframed with a olden day look to them etc.  I LOVE IT!  I am a total paparazzo! I love taking pics, and this allows me to make cool shots look even cooler!!! See the pic above – my sushi lunch, I love that I can make it seem more antique…

 2. Euchre Lite: When I went to the DR for K and J’s wedding, J’s family was always playing Euchre.  I had NO idea how to play Euchre at this point, in fact the game seemed so confusing and uninteresting that I didn’t pay them the least bit of attention.  My brother and sister-in-law also play Euchre a lot and they have never had a desire to teach me so I have ignored them to a great extent as well.  However, when I started dating Newbie, I knew I would have to learn at some point because his family clearly loves this game as does he.  I downloaded Euchre Lite for free and I slowly learned the rules and am now at a 46% win rate (I lost the first like 30+ games I played because I had NO idea what I was doing).  Now I win most games though and am becoming quite strategic in my gameplay.  I even played with Newbie, his dad and step-mom and while we didn’t win, we played well and I made some pretty good moves.  They also taught me some other things that a free computer game just can’t (or won’t as the case may be).  I really do enjoy this game now and I cannot wait to get better and maybe even play for money at some point!!!

3. Words with Friends: Like Euchre, I never saw the interest in Scrabble.  At all.  I didn’t play as a child and I felt no desire to play as an adult.  However, a few of my friends were playing “words with friends” so I decided I would download this free app and see where it took me.  I have played probably close to 50 games and I have not ever won – and you know what?  I don’t care!  I have so much fun making up words and seeing what words this app considers real words and not real words that I just play for fun and help other people’s scores increase!

Words with Friends Application

4. TD Canada Trust: Since the banks have decided to charge $2.00 for paper statements, I have cancelled that and now have the TD app so that I can see my account balances anytime of day and make transfers immediately.  I love this app.  It amazes my dad that just by flipping through my phone I can tell him how much I owe on my Visa, what my last bank transaction was and how much money is in my grandmothers accounts (I am on them – hence that ability).

5. Cineplex: I am a movie buff.  I love watching movies.  This app allows me to see trailers, find out what movies are playing where and at what time.  This means if I am hanging out in Ajax bored with nothing to do, I can see what movies are out and head down to the Cineplex in Ajax and watch a movie.  It’s a simple app but it has made my life just that much better and easier!

***Bonus*** I just downloaded this app this morning.  It’s called SoundHound.  Newbie has it and I love it.  So often when I am in the car or at home and a song comes on the radio and I cannot remember the name of the song or the person who sings it, but I know I want it to listen to on my iPod.  Now, all I have to do is turn on this app, give it 10 seconds or so and all of a sudden I have the name of the song, who sings it and a whole lot of other information on the artist.  I am one of those girls who can sing along to a variety of songs, but if you ask me what I am singing I will make up titles since I have no idea.  Now I don’t have to.  I can even sing or hum a song while soundhound is on and it will tell me the same information!  WOOHOO!  This is my bonus favourite app cause I cannot choose between the top 5 which one I want to switch with. 
 
Now you all know what apps I love and if you have a suggestion for other apps I may like, please pass them along!
Have a great Monday
 
XOXO Nikilee
 
***There’s an app for me – okay maybe not but there should be***
2 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite – apps??

  1. Ed and I love Euchre – we play every Tuesday night. We used to play for hours and hours and hours with your Mom and Dad every Saturday night
    before you kids were born. Actually we would play cards till midnight, then go 10 pin bowling at Shoppers World and bowl all you can play till 4:00 am for something like $2. (We couldn’t afford to go out much) I play Scrabble on my computer for hours. I can set the level of difficulty of my opponent to make it more challenging.

Leave a Reply

