I’m not having a good day

I don’t know what it is, I just could not for the life of me fall asleep last night.  I tossed and turned, flipped and flopped all night.  There is a lot going on in my life right now – stuff I would not like to discuss until it all comes to fruition, but eventually it will – it will all come out, so fear not, my open book policy with my blog will continue, just not today.

I woke up finally at around quarter to seven.  I had fifteen minutes to wash my hair, get dressed and leave.  I decided there would be no makeup today because tonight I am having a facial – ya my day is going to go great at the end!  So here I am make-up free, feeling exhausted and ready for a full day of work.

I leave my house, realizing I left my car on the street – and I see that obnoxious yellow paper flying underneath my window wipers.  I have a parking ticket! 

Sushi bf and D have been leaving their van in the driveway because they have materials and garbage they carry in and out of the house on a daily basis so I have been parking on the street and when they leave, I pull the car back in.  I forgot last night.  How could I forget!!!  I got a ticket a few weeks ago for the exact same thing!  Now a $15.00 ticket isn’t a big deal, but seriously, now this is $30!  I need to make smarter choices!!

Have you ever seen the American show Parking Wars??  I have, and I wasn’t impressed.  It’s a bunch of screaming, trashy people harassing Parking enforcement officers and as a government worker, it bothers me that people feel they can talk to these people this way with little to no consequences. 

HOWEVER, if I had been away at 3:23 am – exactly 3 hours and four minutes after he originally marked me as parked, I think my manners might have gotten the best of me.  I would have been all over him like white on rice!  There is a 3 hour parking limit on my street.  And yes – I parked WAY longer then 3 hours, but really with school being out for summer and no one else parked on the street, why is my little car so much of an inconvenience??  I know, I know – it’s the LAW!  Whatev’s.  I will pay my ticket and I will do so with a frown on my face! 

The day couldn’t have gotten any worse – or more annoying – or so I thought.  I pull up to Tim Hortons (because no matter how late I feel I am, I always get my tea) and the truck in front of me has a license plate reading “bushwker*  And it has a moose sticker with three bullet hole stickers on the back.  How hillbilly.  I shook my head and closed my eyes until it was my turn to order.  Thank God for Anna.  Anna is the lady who gives me my tea every morning.  I tip pretty regularly $0.25-$1.00 so she knows me (and my bright blue car) so she gave me her usual “hi” with a big smile which made me feel (somewhat) better. 

As I am driving I slow down to let a few people into my lane who I can tell are trying very hard to get in, despite the traffic, not ONE person waved their hand to say thank you!  What happened to courtesy?  I thought people were supposed to say thank you when one is polite and does something kind.  I mean I could have quite easily hit the gas a bit harder and flown past them to stay stranded in their lane, but no, I was nice.  So say thank-you.  Now usually it is the youth drivers who do not reply with the hand wave, but today it was an older gentleman, a young woman who had ear buds in and was head bopping and a man with an extremely large turban who was smoking with the windows closed – yuck!

Ya you three people are miserable human beings, and beware, I will still let you in next time even when you don’t say thank you, rarely indicate – young girl this means you – and slow down my impending drive to work.  Because that is who I am.  I bitch, I complain, I whine – a lot – but overall, I am a nice person who likes to help people out so cut in front, go ahead, and just know – you were on time to wherever you had to be because I let you!

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

