Uptown Spa

Every once in a while, a girl (or I guess a guy too) needs a chance to relax for a couple of hours while someone pampers her.  I have never been one to turn down a pampering, I get mani’s/pedi’s all the time and I am known to get facials and massages whenever the need strikes!

Last night I had a 5:00 appt for both a steam facial AND a hot stone massage.  Now you may be asking “why does she want so much heat when it’s the middle of summer and 30+ degrees outside”?  Because I LOVE heat!  I do.  My body craves it like PETA craves animal loving! (sorry PETA)

I made an appointment with my favourite esthitician Bessie to do an eyebrow wax and steam facial and I actually fell asleep.  We usually talk each others ears off throughout our appointments, but I was so tired and she made me feel so relaxed that I passed out cold under her touch.  My skin is a beautiful pink shade today – no more  black heads!  WOOHOO! 

My second appointment was with Laura who specializes in hot stone massage and is probably 24 years-old if that!  She is cute as a button and instantly had me relaxed again under her touch within minutes.  I didn’t fall asleep though because I guess I was rested from my 20 minute cat-nap during my facial.  We chatted and got to know each other and by the end of the massage I was debating my ability to drive home.  I was so warm and cozy and relaxed I did not want to move.  I had to laugh because at one point Laura asked me if I worked at a computer all day?  I said yes and questioned how she knew????  She told me I have computer arms…I don’t know what that meant, but the pain that shot through my arms as she rubbed and kneaded them was proof enough that I need to back away from the computer once in a while.  Even this morning they feel better, but I can feel a slight ache in the right arm (my mouse clicking arm).

I cannot wait till October when I do that exact sequence all over again!  If you want a massage or facial, or mani/pedi or any other spa service and live in the North York, ON. area, head over to 801 York Mills Rd.  http://www.uptownspa.com/index2.htm

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

