Black out 2003

Yesterday was the 9 year anniversary of the great black out!  According to Wikipedia:

The Northeast blackout of 2003 was a widespread power outage that occurred throughout parts of the Northeastern and Midwestern United States and Ontario, Canada, on Thursday, August 14, 2003, just before 4:10 p.m. While some power was restored by 11 p.m., many did not get power back until 8 a.m. the next day.At the time, it was the second most widespread blackout in history, after the 1999 Southern Brazil blackout. The blackout affected an estimated 10 million people in Ontario and 45 million people in eight U.S. states

Where were you when this occurred?  I remember exactly…and sadly, I don’t turn out well in the end.

I was working for Solid Waste management as a support assistant for the summer before my last year of University.  I was dating Filipino Boy.  We had been fighting a lot and my jealousy was a (tad) out of control.  He told me some friend of his J had come back into his life and she was coming over for dinner.  I was angry because I wasn’t allowed to meet this beautiful girl as he hadn’t seen her in years and wanted to spend some time just the two of them with his family.  Now I know you are thinking – Nikilee, you are being so silly – it’s just a family dinner – she was going to his family’s home to hang out, not have some hot steamy make out session, but I was jealous and I was stupid (and young) so ya we got in a fight.

Then the power went out.  I was at work and we were all sent home (it was the end of the day anyway).  I carefully drove myself the 5 km to my house (which took about 30 minutes with traffic lights out and people not knowing what yet had happened). 

I was trying to talk to Filipino boy on my phone and he wouldn’t answer cause he was busy with J and his family.  Because of the power failure – she slept over.  OMG, you would not believe the raging jealousy floating through my body.

I didn’t sleep a wink, assuming of course he was dumping me for this beautiful Filipino girl.  Ya, okay I am WAY over exaggerating. 

The next day I went to work because I live so close and we had emergencies to deal with so I went and worked even though we only had a handful of computers and phones up with back up generators.  I talked to my bf and he assured me nothing happened.  I began to feel better.  Then quickly I felt worse because I met J and she was honestly the sweetest girl ever and to this day we are still friends even though me and Filipino boy broke up a year later. 

Moral of the story: don’t be me.  Yep that’s the moral.  Sorry it’s as simple as that.  LOL…

That power failure sparked the hight and slow end of my jealous ways.  I was so dumb to let that one experience ruin me and my bf and I will never forget that night because of it.

J, Filipino Boy, you are both amazing people and I was an idiot.  Sorry for the lack of trust and faith I had in you both!

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

