What I have learned in 200 posts

200 – that’s how many blogs I have written.  This is 201.  So here are five things I have learned in the almost 2 years I have been a bona fide blogger with wordpress:

1. You will not be popular right away – or ever necessarily.

Granted when I first started blogging I had a few hopes that my blogs would be so witty and awesome that I would immediately have 100+ readers.  Well I have not even gotten close.  LOL…I have on average about 30-40 readers (or visitors) on days when I blog.  I think this is mainly due to me reading people’s blogs and me commenting on other blogs.  You know – you follow them, they follow you kinda thing!  I have some great blogs that I follow and I know at least one or two of them follow me back, it’s cool.  Never expected that kinda of relationship building on WordPress, but it’s true!  So even though I don’t have my 100+ readers, I love my 30+ readers and maybe by the time I hit my 400 post I will be able to double my readership

2. Some people love it, some people don’t:

I have talked quite openly about the people who read my blog who don’t like me and I have no idea why they continue to read – hoping for a train wreck I assume, but for the most part, they don’t comment and they don’t trash me on my blog, so I will leave them be.  Now that me and Newbie are no longer together 😦  at least one of them should stop reading thank God!

However, people in my life know that if they spend time with me, they risk being talked about.  A lot of people are cool with this, as long I don’t mention names, put up private pics etc, but some people prefer I don’t talk about them directly.  I understand this because some people have private lives they don’t wish to be shared with the world – remember all the countries I listed where I have been viewed from – ya the WORLD!  However, I do make mention of things that happen to me, I am an open book, I just try to keep the gossip level to a minimum.

3. I won’t be that interesting everyday:

I originally wanted to blog every weekday and have fun, charming things to say.  Well I am not a Kardashian so my life is NOT that exciting.  I have had to pick and choose days to talk on my blog because some days – some weeks – I have nothing cleaver to say and I don’t feel like wasting my reader’s time by writing random stuff that has no meaning to me or them. 

I have accepted this – hence why I am only at 200 blogs.

4. I feel a little A.D.H.D when it comes to my “theme”

As in the background of my blog.  I changed it every couple of months and I can’t stick to one.  One day, someone will come out with a theme I enjoy and I will keep it – I hope, but for now…it’s change change change!  I have read a few ways to create my own theme, but somehow I am struggling, I don’t know if it’s my computer or what, but I dislike my themes and I need a new one – stay tuned!

5. I really enjoy blogging

I know this seems like a “duh” moment, I mean why create a blog if you don’t like blogging, but in all honesty I wasn’t sure if I would.  I was going through a lot in my life when I started the blog, and it was more therapy for me than anything else, but it has turned into something more…something much more!  It is now more of a living manuscript of my life for my friends, family and any future children I may have.  I love it!  I appreciate it!  I respect it! 

So thank you to my readers for sticking by me through 200 blogs…I hope to still be a part of your life 200 more blogs from now. 

Have a great Monday!

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

