Kissing Frogs

My nana used to tell me “you have to kiss a lot of frogs before you find your prince”.

I always believed that so in high school I kissed a LOT of frogs, some were ugly, some were slimy and some were just plain green, but I have always wanted to find my prince. 

As I got older I realized that finding that prince may not be what happens, I may find a frog I like enough to abandon the prince story altogether, but I kept my hopes high.  When I started dating GBF I thought for sure I had found him, he was everything I wanted in a man, but it didn’t work out.  I know my Nana thought of him as the perfect Prince, but we never do find out what happens after the wedding in fairy tales…my guess – Prince Charming isn’t all that a bag of chips!  Just saying!   GBF is still a prince, despite everything that has happened between us and he will always be my knight in shining armour (well okay it’s tarnished armour) but still a great man. 

Is he MY prince though?  I don’t know.  Right now we are friends – awkwardly – but still friends, so I may continue kissing other frogs in the hopes that someone stands out to make me realize how DAMN amazing I am! 

Tomorrow night I have an evening planned with a friend of a friend, a man friend yes, I have no expectations of what this date will bring – or if kissing will be involved, but he is fun and kind and we have a lot in common, so I figure why not?  I am still young(ish) so I am going to go, have fun and see what the night brings.  Getting to know new people is a part of life and some people come into your life for a reason or a season.  I don’t like when its a season (such as MiMo) cause I fell hard for that boy, but sadly, that is over, and two months later I am still not over it, but I know I have to move on.  So I am going to go out tomorrow and I am going to get to know this new guy and see what happens.

Wish me luck on this new journey and I’ll tell you all about it!

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

