The end of an Era – Twilight style

In 2008 my co-worker Deborah asked me if I had this Twilight book everyone was talking about because her daughter who was a young teenager at the time was bugging her to read it.  I told her I hadn’t but I’d be happy to skim through it at the time to see if it was appropriate (it was and both Deborah and her daughter have read all the books now).

That was 2008 – four years later and I still have a FULL BLOWN OBSESSION appreciation for the books and movies.  I read all four books within an embarrassingly short time frame and have watched every movie the night they were released, standing in line with all the teeny boppers and their parents, reading magazines dedicated to the characters and actors in the movies.  I have read each book at least 6 times and know that I will probably read each one another 6 times in my life!

What do I love most about them?  I mean they are not literary works of art – Stephanie Meyer the author will not be given a Nobel Peace Prize for her work.  I love the story line.  Un-realistic, passionate, loyal, dedicated – something that teenagers – or anyone for that matter really is.  The three main characters Bella, Edward and Jacob have a relationship that cannot be touched, that cannot be destroyed – no matter how hard others (and each other) try so desperately to do. 

The final movie came out last night and unlike every other year I am waiting till tonight to see it because I am getting too old to stay up till 2 in the morning and then go to work for 8.  I would be really cranky and my client’s deserve better.  So tonight is the night.  My sister-in-law T and I have gone to every one together and tonight we are ending our saga together.  I am feeling a bit nostalgic because I have spent the past four years engrossed in the books, movies and magazines and while I am sad – at the same time it’s nice to see it all wrap up – to end, the way it should. 

Thank you Stephanie for creating a book that allowed a girl like me to enter into fantasy when needed, thank you to the actors who portrayed Stephanie’s characters so well and thank you to Summit Entertainment who got the movies in theaters to begin with.

I am so looking forward to tonight!

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

