Fever and Quebecers

What do you when you are in Cayo Coco Cuba with a fever of 102?  Nothing, you do nothing, but sit and pray you sweat it out in time to enjoy part of your seven-day vacation. 

K, J-Mo, little C, S and I left for Cuba last Saturday the 12th and when I woke up that morning, I felt a frog on my chest.  I knew I was in trouble.  I blasted myself with Dayquil and cough syrup and since I had energy I set out on my way.  I felt fine the whole rest of the day, the whole flight and through customs and check in and everything! 

The resort was great, check in was perfect and our rooms were fine.  We all went to the buffet to eat and almost as soon as I ate my last mouthful of pasta I felt it – the heat to my head, the frog was back and I felt exhausted!  Little C was also acting up and warm and had a temperature.  All I could think was “here we go again” Little C and I got sick last vacation (strep throat) and I was sure we were headed down the same road. 

We all had an early night and I popped myself full of Advil cold and sinus praying for a better day.  Waking up I felt okay.  However as the day progressed and especially after dinner, I was feeling the exact same way!  Finally brave enough to take my temperature it jumped to 102.  I wanted to cry.  I wanted to scream and shout, but all I did was throw on as many clothes as I could and snuggle under the covers to hopefully rip it out of me!  

I played this fever game for three and a half days.  I enjoyed every DAY of my vacation and was thoroughly MISERABLE every night of my vacation.  Thankfully this was not a party vacation, I got to sleep, and relax and enjoy time with people whom I truly consider family.  Now that I am home, I no longer have a fever, but I do feel like I have Cholera – let me tell you, THAT is not a good feeling either!  I see the doctor tomorrow and I am sure she will tell me I am not dying, that I just have a stomach bug, but the fear of Cholera has me terrified to eat or drink anything (maybe the McDonald’s breakfast the morning of our return was not a good thing). 

 

I want to talk to you a little bit about people from the province of Quebec.  I have met MANY nice people from Quebec.  HOWEVER….the visitors to the Tryp CC the week I was there I met MANY Quebec people (especially men) whom made me utterly ashamed to be Canadian, or rather that they are Canadian.  A group of young men from Quebec beat up a security guard and were allowed to stay on the resort and got in NO trouble at all.  Rumour has it they also kicked around a cat that was roaming the grounds, but at that point I had witnessed so much disgusting behavior I could NOT listen to anymore. They were loud, drunk, obnoxious and foolish the entire trip. 

I truly am disgusted at the way Quebecers portrayed Canadians and I hope to GOD that the people on the resort knew it was not Canadians, but Quebecers that were causing so many issues.  Shame on you!

 

XOXO Nikilee

Leave a Reply

