A huge thank you!

I want to take this time to thank all of my readers, supporters, friends and family who have spent the past few days telling me how amazing, smart and beautiful I am. 

I was ashamed that I was foolish enough to believe my scammers lies, to believe that someone whom I had never met could say such nice things to me.  I felt like I should have known.  That this was my fault. 

However, thanks to a select few people, I know in my heart, that I did everything right – that I was duped by a man who made me believe I was important.  I have taken all means to protect other women.  I have emailed MATCH twice now because I found him again online this weekend with a different name and a different picture (however the same poor guy so I warned Match about that).

I have been fortunate enough to have my weight watchers support group and Twitter followers tell their friends and family members and my blog address was retweeted on Twitter by some pretty big names (Gail Vaz-Oxlade and Steve Roberts thank you).  I am have watched a Dr Phil episode about this exact problem as well as Ricki Lake.  It is prevalent!  It is a global problem.  The truth is, many of these so-called men are in little huts in western Africa with a list of emails and phone numbers and are “dating” many women at a time. 

Some tips for online daters that I got off of Match (ironically) and Dr Phil’s website are the following:

  1. Don’t use personal email accounts right away – use the chat site set up on the dating site.
  2. If they tell you they are military or travel for work to foreign countries, beware
  3. If the person has no online presence (No Facebook, twitter, LinkedIn etc) or has an extremely low number of friends or followers – RED FLAG
  4. Don’t give any personal markers when just emailing (birthdate, address etc)
  5. Do not give money – if they ask for money before even meeting and establishing a relationship with you – huge trouble is coming your way. 

I just want to thank you all one last time for reading my blog, for taking the time to understand what has happened.  For telling your friends and family. 

XOXO Nikilee

 

Leave a Reply

