And…I’m done

So I am well aware that I have said this on my blog and to numerous friends numerous times, but as far as me and online dating goes – I’m over it. I’m done. Just for kicks, I joined 4 dating sites – 2 paid and 2 unpaid and while I was actually more impressed with the looks of the men from the free sites, neither had what I was looking for. However on both the paid and unpaid sites I found men who declared they wanted their last first date and wanted nothing more than a loving relationship, based on love and honesty – yet when I went on dates with these men, it was pretty clear that was not what they were looking for.

It's not me, it's you.

So I’m done. I know, I know there are men on these sites who ARE looking for that, and you have to dig through the weeds to find the flowers, but seriously I don’t have the time or the energy to do that. Relationships are work – a lot of work, I am MORE than willing to work and fight for my relationship, but dating – dating should be easy, at least in my mind. Dating should be fun and breezy and romantic and if it’s not, then right now, I don’t want to date.

Funny Breakup Ecard: I feel like we've grown apart over the last few hours.

After my second “second” date with a guy last week with no follow-up phone call I decided I had enough. I deleted every profile I have up and have made the conscious decision that if I am going to meet someone – my “one” – then it will have to be natural, a set-up from a friend, a chance meeting in the coffee line or some other way, other than chit-chat and meeting online.

This has been great, but I think I'll go back to doing whatever I want all the time.

If I am going to give up time with my family or my girlfriends it has to be worth it. R met my friend on match and as much as I am opposed to them dating for reasons obvious to those close to me, I am happy that they have found someone to enjoy their time with and I truly do hope they can make it work. Dating is supposed to make you happy. I’m not happy. I hope R and C are and I hope my other friends who have been fortunate to find love online remain happy. I just know for me, right now, that I am not going to find my love online so I hope everyone respects my decision to give up. Please don’t misunderstand – I have given up on online dating, I will never give up on love, because I love the idea of growing old with someone, of marriage, of family.

Funny Breakup Ecard: Sorry you didn't meet my ridiculously low standards.

For now, I am going to be content enjoying every moment I have with my friends. My fried Ro is having a baby any minute now – no seriously, she could be in labour as we speak! I will have a new “niece” to snuggle up to and breathe in so I have things to keep me busy, things that fulfill me, things that bring me joy. All I need in life right now is a little joy!

I will always cherish the initial misconceptions I had about you.

XOXO Nikilee

Funny Breakup Ecard: I know we haven't met but I think we should stop seeing each other.

Leave a Reply

