What do you do

What do you do when you find yourself living alone – for the first time ever at 32?  What do you when your father, your best friend, your hero passes away leaving you to fend for yourself in the big world that’s not always pleasant? 

You buy a dog?  Well, okay technically I was given a dog.  A three-year old Golden Cocker Retriever who is the sweetest boy in the world.  I am in love already and while I tried hard to ignore his big brown eyes and floppy cocker spaniel ears, I soon felt a calling to take him in.  He needed love, affection, care.  I need love, affection and well – not care, but compassion; getting an animal is an ideal win-win.  His name is Simba and he is my friend.

The day I met him

The day I met him

When I brought him home...

When I brought him home…

Bed Time

Bed Time

He loves his mommy

He loves his mommy

Joshua and Simba - instant friends

Joshua and Simba – instant friends

XOXO Nikilee

2 thoughts on “What do you do

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. I’m sorry that I can’t find the words to help you to feel better, but I am thinking of you. If you ever feel the need to talk to a “stranger” of sorts, please feel free to type away. I know I probably won’t have anything to say that you haven’t heard before, but I’ll read whatever you want to write.

    I am glad that you have a little soul to take care of, he looks so kind and sweet and he’ll help you through the process. There is just something about pets that is comforting. Congratulations on becoming Simba’s Mom.

    • Hi Katie, thank you so much for your kind words. I am struggling to accept reality right now. It’s so hard to cope with a loss I haven’t had to deal with before, but knowing I have support is encouraging.

Leave a Reply

